Singing in the Rain … oh wait, wrong song.

When I read that Salzberg literally means “Salt Castle,” I knew this town had to be pretty great. We only had one full day there, and of course, since the rain seems to follow us wherever we travel, it found us yet again in this beautiful city in Austria. Although we had to pull out our umbrellas and slosh our way across the city, we enjoyed our one day in the town where Mozart lived and where Julie Andrews sang. We decided to do the Sound of Music Tour, where we learned some behind-the-scenes secrets about the movie and got inspired to fulfill the eleventh item on my European bucket list by singing “Do-Re-Mi” in Austria—and better yet, we recorded it.

If you’d like to see it….

Another high note of our time in the Salt Castle was when we ate at a restaurant in which Mozart himself frequently dined. I could almost hear his Piano Concerto No. 21 playing as I tasted the traditional Austrian Goulash soup; the rich flavors unfolded on my tongue—beefy broth with a hint of bacon, that peppery kick of paprika and caraway seed, soft potatoes with a savory onion and garlic flavor. Just like our time in Salzberg, it seems the only problem with my soup was not having enough.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Singing in the Rain … oh wait, wrong song.

  1. I can’t find a word descriptive enough to tell you how much I like the picture of the three of you in the street with your umbrellas.

  2. Skip Limp

    Audrey…. Austria, the birthplace of fine music.

    I’m glad to hear your working on your European Bucket List. (it’s so much easier to do when your there, then after you’re back in the states)

    Skip

  3. Terry DeOrnellis

    Hey Audrey,
    Been keeping up with ya’ll. One of the funniest videos I’ve ever seen. Laughed until I cried.
    Terry

Leave a Reply

