home sweet home.

polls_home_word_2302_540525_poll_xlarge

Have I told y’all yet how much of a homebody I am? I mean, I’m a hardcore homebody if there ever was one.

After all the places I’ve been and all the countries I still want to see, my favorite place in the world most of the time is right here at home.

Preferably with my sister on my living room floor!

I love being in my quiet, calm, [occasionally] clean shelter from the world.

With my coffee.

283672_4384975872402_1227282821_n

And my cat.

And my boyfriend (when I want him around) ;).

394753_4385757371939_1323092145_n

My mom says that, as a baby, I loved to stay in my crib for a long time after I woke up, just relaxing and observing the people and things around me (and probably deciphering answers to the world’s problems). I loved being in my own space. As a kid, I loved vacations and summer camp and spending the night at friends’ houses, but I also couldn’t wait to get back home. As an adult, I love my weekend trips and staying with friends, but any time I’m away from home, I look forward to my return. What I’m trying to say is…. Home is the BEST.

That's me in the middle... I guess I convinced Alex and Kimberly to come chill in my crib with me ;)

That’s me in the middle… I guess I convinced Alex and Kimberly to come chill in my crib with me 😉

When I’m having a bad day, or am in the middle of a marathon day of work, chores, errands, cooking, exercising, or whatever else the day might hold, there’s just nothing better than going home and falling into the comfy arms of my couch and coaxing my cat to lay with me (instead of attack me…she has a mean streak).

Basically, it’s my nature to yearn for the comfort of home, wherever it may be at the time.

Wasn't she precious...

This is back when she was needy and talkative. I guess she’s going through her teenage girl years now…

I was talking about this with my mom the other day, and she said that we’re probably like this (homebodies) because when Kimberly and I were in middle school and high school, every single weekend we’d travel for softball and/or soccer tournaments—for the entire weekend. The moment we’d get back home, we’d finish up our homework and get ready for school the next day. We were all just bundles of energy and excitement back then! 🙂

Honesty time… I can be kind of spoiled sometimes. I’m not proud of it! But let’s be real. If I don’t get my fix of home time and alone time, I can get pretty grumpy. Just ask my poor boyfriend, or my best friends, or my family.

396928_4384824788625_1499913958_n

548918_4384828028706_749836296_n

But God blessed me with patient, loving people in my life, and He blessed me with the roof over my head and the food in my fridge … and I couldn’t be more grateful.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “home sweet home.

  1. Umm…we might be the same person! Aside from the cat part. I’m not too keen on felines & the feeling is mutual! Haha

Leave a Reply

