Cancun, Mexico … the Honeymoon!

Image

It’s been over 3 months since the honeymoon, and we still talk about it often.

I realized I didn’t go into much detail about it in my last post, so I thought I should offer a little more info and lot more pictures!

ImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

Our time at the Valentin Imperial Maya in Cancun was just blissful. The weather was cool. The beach was picturesque. The drinks were tropically luscious. The staff was fantastic. Our hotel room was luxurious. The pools and lazy rivers were blue and peaceful. I could expound on all these things, but the most memorable and exciting part of our trip was the INCREDIBLE food.

My apologies for the rest of this blog post to anybody’s who’s currently dieting. 🙂

THE FOOD. It was absolutely UNREAL delicious.

It’s a blessing and a curse that I married someone who loves eating and experiencing food like I do. We indulged, treated ourselves, were completely spoiled…. and we felt no guilt at all. Hey, you only get one honeymoon, people!!

We were so excited to try authentic Mexican dishes, but we were pleasantly surprised by all kinds of international meals that knocked our socks off. We were on cuisine cloud nine.

Let me mention that this was an all-inclusive resort, so these meals that could have easily been worth $30+ a plate were essentially free. And the 24/7 room service was free.

I’m just gonna let the pictures do the rest of the talking for me.

PREPARE YOUR SALIVA GLANDS.

ImageImage

Image

Raspberry foam in dark chocolate

Image

Grouper au gratin on potato, roasted spinach & pine nuts, with squid ink oil

Image

Flan

Image

Hibachi fun

Image

Thai crusted salmon and coconut jasmine rice

Image

Shrimp and quail confit salad with apple and balsamic glaze

Image

Seafood cannelloni with bechamel sauce

Image

Tiriamisu

Image

Mudslides

Image

These were called “Fried Tacos” … But ummm, taquitos.

Image

This was the most delicious thing I ate while there– the meal I always think about. And I wasn’t even the one who ordered it!! I just got a bite.
Wine-marinated filet mignon with a balsamic glaze and a rosemary apple potato stack

Image

Incredible creme brulee

Image

Fois gras … very gross.

Image

Crusted French onion soup

Image

Flank steak (and other stuff) for room service

Image

Spinach curry sag

Image

three-milk cake

Image

Lobster bisque

Image

Brunch in bed.

Image

Escargot in a burgundy cream sauce

Image

Bruschetta with parmesan cheese and pesto

Image

Steak medallions with gorgonzola cream sauce, rosemary and basil, and rice pilaf

Image

Fajitas

Image

Crepes Suzette

Image

Amazing chocolate mousse.

Image

Shellfish risotto with fennel and squid ink oil

Image

Hibachi fun

Image

Jonathan preparing for the meal… and some amazing pico de gallo, guacamole, and Mexican cheese.

Image

Roasted duck leg canard with a rosemary sweet potato puree

Image

Roasted duck and coconut jasmine rice

Image

Sauteed vegetables, sirloin steak, and shrimp

Image

The best sushi ever.

Image

Stuffed eggplant with balsamic glaze and pesto

Image

I don’t remember what all was in this dessert, but it was like almonds, citrus, dark chocolate…

Image

Fried sea bass with jalapeno aioli

Image

We ordered breakfast before even getting out of bed.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cancun, Mexico … the Honeymoon!

  1. Pat Vanderwater

    I keep looking at all that food. Sure wish I had that service here at home since I seldom cook anymore. Hard to cook for one. So glad you all had a great honeymoon. Love you, Aunt Pat

    >

  2. Mom

    Great pictures and an awesome read. I love your blog!

  3. It all looks delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

