Gourmet Macaroni & Cheese. The Way to a Man’s Heart.

DSC01346

When we were dating, I remember when Jonathan said, “Audrey, if you ever made a gourmet macaroni and cheese for me, I would fall even more in love with you.” I think my response back then was, “K. Or… you could just make it yourself and love me more anyway!”

But my ole heart got to thumpin’ one day recently, and I decided to make him the most creamy, silky, decadent batch of cheesy noodles he’d ever tasted.

What You Need

((Remember that this isn’t exact and is more like an outline that’s meant to encourage your creativity…. I’m helping you embrace your inner chef!))

  • Cheeses of your choice.
    Tip: I was going for a mild cheese combo, so I used medium cheddar, Swiss, provolone, some random, soft white cheese from Central Market, and a little bit of crumbled blue cheese. If you want a deeper more potent flavor, go with a combination of cheeses like Parmesan, Asiago, Romano, Gruyere, sharp white cheddar, etc., but mix them in with milder cheeses too.
  • 1 box elbow macaroni
    Tip: Get the kind with ridges because they hold onto the cheese better!
  • 1 white or yellow onion
  • Salt and pepper
  • Paprika
  • Garlic powder
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • Breadcrumbs
  • Parsley

What You Do

  1. Cook and drain your pasta.
    Tip: Remember to add salt to the pot while the pasta is cooking.
  2. Dice the onion, sauté it in butter, then transfer it to a large pot.
    Tip: I skipped a step and kept the onions in the skillet while making roux. Probably not Emeril-approved, but it worked great for me!
    DSC01348
  3. In the same skillet (unwashed after cooking onions), make a blonde roux:
    A. Melt a stick of butter.
    B. When the butter is bubbly, add flour to it.
    C. Whisk it, A LOT, over medium heat until a thick paste forms. Keep whisking it until it’s smoother and thinner. Whisk whisk whisk it over the heat for like 5-10 minutes. You want it to turn just slightly blonde colored.
    Tip: If you don’t whisk it enough over the heat, your whole dish will be grainy.
    DSC01350
  4. Transfer the roux to the large pot with the onions.
  5. Add milk, and whisk it all together.
  6. Over medium heat, slowly add the cheeses and stir them in with a spoon.
    DSC01352

    DSC01354

  7. Add salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder to taste.
  8. Add the pasta to the large pot.
    DSC01359
  9. Chop the parsley.
    Tip: I usually always hand-chop fresh herbs, but parsley is a more resilient one that can really take some processing without losing its integrity!
    DSC01364
  10. Prepare the breadcrumbs.
    Tip: You can just buy store-bought if you want, but I put some French bread in the food processor and then toasted the crumbs in a skillet. I added a tad of dry Ranch seasoning to the breadcrumbs for an extra pop of flavor on top.
    DSC01358
    DSC01363
  11. Distribute the macaroni and cheese to serving dish(es).
    DSC01367
  12. Cover it with breadcrumbs and chopped parsley.
    Tip: I prefer un-baked mac and cheese because it doesn’t dry out. If you like yours a little less saucy, bake it!
    DSC01373

BTW. Macaroni and cheese pizza … to die for! You can throw some on a tortilla with some alfredo sauce and bake it, but if you happen to have some leftover cheese pizza (with alfredo sauce instead of marinara), jazz it up with some of this magical macaroni and pop it in the oven. Best. Idea. Ever.

DSC01401

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Gourmet Macaroni & Cheese. The Way to a Man’s Heart.

  1. Sarip2@yahoo.com

    Never give the devil a ride because

    he will always want to drive

    Can I come and live at your house? Your cooking looks delicious! But I don’t like to cook! What I was wondering is what cook ware you use. I have had mine for several years now and absolutely everything sticks in the skillets! I get so frustrated trying to take fish out of the skillet and it sticks so bad the crust comes off!, or chicken, or pork chops! Maddening! Sounds like you two are doing great! Do you like your job? Where do you life in Dallas? I have a sister that lives in Mesquite. Just wanted to comment on your cooking! I love y’all’s post. You and Jonathan seem like you both get up and go to bed smiling 🙂 I love you, Sarilyn

    • Haha, SURE, You can come live with us!! 🙂
      I use a lot of different brands of cookware, but what I mostly used in this recipe is Calphalon. It has really good non-stick quality.
      Yes, I am really enjoying my job! I have wonderful coworkers and great boss, so that always makes a job better.
      Wow, I had no idea you had family in the Dallas area! We live in the North Dallas area in Plano. My husband used to live in Garland, which is really close to Mesquite.
      Love you too!

  2. Ohhhh man! This sounds/looks delicious. Thanks for all the tips! I am SO trying that mac and cheese pizza. Brilliant!!!

  3. Aunt Pat

    I hate hate cooking. Wish you lived close. I would hire you to cook for me..
    That Mac and cheese is to die for.

Leave a Reply

